top of page

The Huguenot Cross


The Huguenot Cross

The Huguenot Cross is not only beautiful and symbolic, but possesses the
added charm afforded by the romance of history and tradition. It recalls a
period of valor, constancy, faithfulness and loyalty to truth. It is becoming
more and more a sign among the descendants of the Huguenots
throughout the entire world.

It is impossible to state precisely the period in which our Huguenot
ancestors adopted the usage of what they called the Sainted Spirit. It
certainly existed before the Revocation of the Edict of Nantes, 1685. It is
worn as an emblem of their faith.

The Cross consists of an open four-petal Lily of France, and the petals
thereby form a Maltese Cross. The four petals signify the Four Gospels.
Each arm or petal, at the periphery, has two rounded points at the corners.
These points are regarded as signifying the Eight Beatitudes. The four
petals are joined together by four fleur-de-lis signifying the Mother
Country of France, each of which bears a rounded point distally. The
twelve rounded points described in the four petals and the four fleur-de-lis
signify the Twelve Apostles. There is formed between each fleur-de-lis and
the arms of the two petals with which it is joined, an open space taking the
shape of a heart which suggests the seal of the great French Reformer,
John Calvin. Suspended from the lower central petal by a ring of Gold is a
pendant dove signifying the Church under the Cross. In times of
persecution, a teardrop supplanted the dove.

(From the Handbook of the Huguenot Society of Texas, 1995-

Pins and necklaces available from the library

bottom of page